Light Beams and Symbolism

Image (C)Copyright by Cary Enoch Reinstein

Recently I’ve been meditating on the Bahá’í sacred writings in a new way by making compilations. The free program Ocean contains an easily searchable library of hundreds of books including most major Bahá’í texts that have been translated into English (other languages are also available). One of Ocean’s features is the ability to extract text to compilations. The three compilations I’ve made so far contain quotations about Trees, Meditation, and the Symbolism of Dawn and Sunrise.

Meditating about dawn and sunrise and their symbolism to represent the Manifestation of God inspired me to re-purpose some of my favorite images. My earlier thoughts were published here and here. Compare this newly recolored image with the one I created for My Perception of Color.

Image (C)Copyright by Cary Enoch Reinstein

To me these images are completely different because I’ve used them to represent different feelings and perceptions. They were created years apart by grafting different parts from other incomplete images. This is what the second and older version looks like.

Image (C)Copyright by Cary Enoch Reinstein

Of all the bird images I’ve created over the years this one is still my favorite. Its earliest less colorful version appeared on the CD album cover of Bird by Susan Lewis Wright.

This is this week’s Ocean compilation, Symbolism of Dawn and Sunrise.

Be unrestrained as the wind, while carrying the Message of Him Who hath caused the Dawn of Divine Guidance to break. Bahá’u’lláh, Gleanings from the Writings of Bahá’u’lláh, p. 339

Blessed is the man that hath inhaled the fragrance of the Most Merciful, and turned unto the Dawning-Place of His beauty, in this resplendent Dawn. Bahá’u’lláh, Epistle to the Son of the Wolf, p. 60

Comments are closed.